This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.8 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.5
Property Location
9.5
Facilities
8.6
Staff
8.9
Value
8.2
Reviews
    us
    8.8
    February 6, 2018
    Patio furniture was dirty and dusty and living area furniture was uncomfortable.
    The cottage is in a great location for a walk to the beach or downtown. It is quaint and decorated with taste. We enjoyed the outside area and comfy bed.
    Joye
    us
    10
    January 31, 2018
    Historic property with lots of charm.
    The cottages are in a perfect location, close to the beach, shops, restaurants, groceries. We stayed here four nights and never drove the car. The staff are very friendly. The property is very safe and quiet. Our 1 bedroom cottage had a kitchen that was well stocked for cooking.
    Jeffrey
    us
    9.6
    January 16, 2018
    I'd be moving here if I could afford it.
    The property managers were very hospitable, exceeding typical hotel or air bnb cordiality. This is the place to stay in La Jolla.
    us
    10
    January 12, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Susie
    us
    10
    January 12, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us
    10
    January 8, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Cristin
    us
    10
    December 20, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sturtz
    us
    10
    December 1, 2017
    Awsome and Beautiful!!!!
    Love everything! Beautiful property, friendly and helpful host, close to everything we needed. The walks on the beach, sunset, excellent weather and an awesome wedding (grad-daughter's), Redwood Hollow Cottages in La Jolla will be a lastly and beautiful memory. Ken & Jacquie
    Sonia
    us
    8.3
    November 28, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ishaan
    us
    10
    November 27, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us
    10
    November 16, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Brooke
    us
    9.6
    November 12, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Gary
    us
    6.7
    October 31, 2017
    Private with comfortable rooms and friendly staff however, Would not stay here again
    For the price I was hoping for a little more such as access to bottled water, soda pop, etc. The parking is horrible. A nightmare......
    The room was very comfortable. It was within walking distance to the ocean and not far from restaurants and shopping. The staff was very helpful and super nice.
    Khaled
    ae
    9.6
    October 24, 2017
    Nice place
    Nothing
    Every thing
    us
    10
    October 23, 2017
    Wonderful
    Parking
    The cottages and the garden
    Howard
    us
    5.8
    October 13, 2017
    Not what I expected
    The unit was tiny, not a full cottage as advertised. It smelled musty. Had to turn my suitcase sideways to get it in the door, The couch was very small and uncomfortable. there was no place to sit and eat. We were totally cramped. Could not have spent more than a couple of nights there. We had all meals out. The coffee maker was a joke, a toy, you could barely make one cup of coffee at a time. The curtains were thin and inadequate if you care to sleep beyond sunrise, and anyone could look right in our front door. The parking lot holds only 4 cars. We always had a space, but had to back out up a steep hill and blindly into the street. Scary and dangerous.
    Place was cute. Direct TV. Excellent towels. Big refrigerator.
    Lara
    us
    10
    September 20, 2017
    I would definitely come back, it was more personal than staying at a hotel and I felt at home.
    The tv wouldn't work right, but I wasn't there to watch tv anyway.
    The bed was my favorite part. It felt like my own.
    Christina
    us
    10
    September 19, 2017
    Our stay at Redwood Cottage was amazing!
    The only downside was both bathrooms being in the bedrooms
    The location to the beach was amazing the cottage was beautiful, clean, & the space was perfect! I would definitely stay here again!
    Terri
    us
    9.2
    September 19, 2017
    Wish it had view of beach but beach is just around the corner
    Very quaint cottage.
    Sebastian
    us
    4.6
    September 12, 2017
    Tiny Room with Thousands of Rules and no Cleaning
    Stayed in the "Small Studio Cottage" which would deserve the word "Tiny". Literally no place to move or put your luggage - at all - even two carry-ons are to big. There are no hooks or anything to put the towels in the bathroom so add them to your tiny room as well if you want to dry them as the humidity stays in the bathroom forever. There is technically an a/c in the room - underneath the wardrobe in a small wardrobe with no possibility for the cold air to circulate in the room and the ac is sucking the cold air out of this tiny enclosed wardrobe instead out of the hot room (to mention it was mid September and still unbelievable hot in there). Rules over Rules: Don't put all the pillows and comforter on the ground or you will be charged (so put them into the small 20inch wide only wardrobe you have which is filled afterwards. Separate the trash. Bring out the trash alone. No stains or anything on the towels - I was almost afraid of using them. To sum it up - don't do anything inside or outside otherwise they subtract it from your $500 (!!!) deposit. Be aware it takes a week and a call to get the $500 back to your account. There is NO CLEANING while you stay at all and as I just mention you have to bring out your trash alone - otherwise you will be charged. When we came there the place was empty and we asked to switch rooms for a bit bigger one and this would have been only possible for more than $200 extra - which would almost double the rate of the room we had. Parking: Only three spots available. On the street it will be impossible for you to find something if you go out for a nice dinner or went to San Diego and come back after 7pm.
    If they wouldn't be dirty the grounds are nice. Leaves and dust everywhere! The location is great and short walks bring you almost everywhere.
Loading reviews...
Close